From Mundane to Meaningful?

I’m having another rather pensive night, and while that can lead to rather long winding, interesting blog posts?  It’s just as likely to lead to me being unable to decide what to write about.  😉  So I figured I’d check out the new Weekly Writing Challenge here at WordPress:  from mundane to meaningful.

Hmmm…

So, what did I do today?  To be honest?  Nothing that I would consider mundane.  Sure, it was every day things like playing with kid kid, crafting, cuddling, but I don’t consider any of that mundane.  Damon came home, we had supper, watched a couple episodes of Avatar (the series about Ang) then I got ready for an evening photo shoot.  I got to work with a lovely couple who were super easy to photograph.  Then I came home and we got the girl ready for bed.  I laid next to her as she fell asleep, and now I’m blogging.  To be honest, the closest thing to mundane about my day is this, the blogging.  And even it has a huge amount of meaning for me.

My family?  My life?  The things I do?  They matter.  So it’s hard to see any of it as mundane.  And I don’t even feel particularly blessed in that regard.  I believe what we ALL do matters.  What we do, the choices we make, they impact the lives of those around us.  Who we are, the things we do?  It all matters, and THAT gives my life excitement – which is the antonym of mundane.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Just a Note, Parenting, People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’ve always been upset by the injection of dye into otherwise beautiful plants and animals – Orchids are one example, Goldskirt Tetras (then sold as fruit tetras) are another. Beauty as they originated, a sad statement of how we must control and impose our desires over nature as the other.

    Thanks for linking. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: From Mundane to Meaningful | small house/BIG GARDEN

Leave a Reply

