Mommy’s Little Airbender!

We love playing with makeup…  it’s just not always used the way it’s intended.  I’ll do my makeup roughly once or twice a month (seriously, I rarely wear any, and when I do it’s usually just a touch of it here or there.  It’s a highly unusual occasion that sees me with eye shadow, lip gloss, mascara, dusting powder, and blush).  The girl likes to do her own makeup though, and tends to go all out when given the opportunity.  However, when she asks me to do hers?  We usually come up with something extra fun.

Today the girl decided she wanted to have an arrow on her head just like Aang (from Avatar the Last Airbender – for the not avatards among us).  So I pulled out my blue eyeliner – which I have for just such occasions, cause goodness knows it’ll never be used on my eyes, grabbed her blue eye shadow, scoped out her blue glitter (made sure it wasn’t crusty yet) and held her bangs out of the way.

First I drew and coloured in the arrow with my dark blue liner.  Then I dabbed over the entirety of it with her light blue shadow.  For that extra punch, I then lined it with the blue glitter.  So, yeah…  purists may argue that Airbenders don’t have an outline around theirs, but come on…  blue glitter!  Ya gotta use glitter when you get the chance.  Sparkles just make everything better!

Voila!  Instant airbender!

Here are a few shots I nabbed with my iPhone:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Family, iPhone, Joy Journey, Nuthin' much, Parenting, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wonderful photos …. I like the one where she looks fearless .. and nearly evil – what an expression, sometime very little are needed to make small girls feel very special.

Leave a Reply

