Thank you for three wonderful Augusts!

After being out of our ordinary routine for so long, the routine is hardly routine any longer.  Getting used to bedtimes the way they were before heading out to the lake will take a little while again.  In fact, my brain is more than a little fried tonight.  It’s one of those days where there is SOOO much I could be sharing (especially after a week of silence) that it’s hard to get myself centered enough to write much of anything.  So how about this?  How about a thank you!

I was looking at my blog stats earlier today.  Cringing and preparing myself for the worst.  After all, a week with no new posts to help drive traffic?  I didn’t expect much.  And while yes, my daily traffic did take a bit of a nose dive, my month still ended up pretty good.  Which made me think back on all the years I’ve been blogging now…  and how crazy it is that so many of you stop in to check on what our family is doing, what I’m ranting about, or to find a new diy idea.  It really is a little staggering, and I appreciate each and every one of you.  I truly do.

By the end of August 2010, I had just finished up my 8th month of blogging.  And my traffic for the month stood at 263 hits.  My blog was a personal challenge, so I was thrilled that there were so many people who came by to check on my photo of the day.

In 2011 I changed the focus from a photo a day to a post a day…  which opened things up a great deal for me.  I still shared a great deal of images, but I also began sharing my thoughts and feelings too.  August of 2o11 this blog saw 978 hits.

Now it’s 2012, and I’m in my third year of blogging.  I write on a number of topics (some of which are fairly “hot button”), and I’ve switched to six posts a week, taking Fridays off.  I share photo shoot previews, and personal snapshots too.  But in all things, you can count on me to be open and honest.  I don’t think there are really any topics I won’t discuss.  If it’s important to me, I’ll share… and yes, sometimes that includes things that are seriously TMI.  And this year?  In August we had a total of 1910 hits (in spite of a serious drop in traffic the last week).

Are those numbers staggering?  Maybe not to some.  But to this crunchy momma who started this journey as a photo a day challenge to herself, not expecting anyone to really follow along?  Yeah, those numbers are pretty darn amazing.

Thank you!  Thank you for your “follows”, your “likes”, your “comments”, your “shares”, your “tweets”, your “pins”, and mostly?  Thank you for coming along with me.  Life is many things, but it’s rarely easy…  and it’s nice to know that there are others along for the ride.

Here’s to another year, and many more wonderful Augusts!

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on September 2, 2012, in Just a Note and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Congratulation to your years of blogging … you’re a pro – it’s a pleasure to come back here .. and take part of your world. Hope that I will be able to do it for another 4 years.

Leave a Reply

