Writerly Style

Every writer has a style all their own, a way of communicating that not only shares a story or a thought, but also that persons way of being.  My favourite writers have always been those who relay their tales as if telling, or retelling an oral folk story.  Who’s words come off the paper as if spoken, from a dear friend.  I suppose that is why I have such an easy way with words…  I write in the same voice as I speak.

Some writers are amazing world builders, artists like Tolkien, who’s worlds and characters take on an entire life of their own.  However these writers are not always easy to read.  Tolkien’s works don’t flow easily from the tongue, and they can be difficult for a novice reader to slog through (though even as a child that never stopped me).  Other writers craft amazing dialogue, to the point where you can hear the characters voices in your head as you read.  So many of Ms. Rice’s characters pop into mind – voices you’ll never forget, each completely distinct from one another.  Then there are those who are able to do both, and who do so with such brilliant smithery as to beguile your very senses…  and these are the writers for whom you cry for a reconnection with, when their stories come to an end.  These are the writers like DiTerlizzi – seriously, if you haven’t read his WondLa books yet what are you doing sitting at your computer or on your iWhatzit reading this?  Get on it!

Myself?  Well…  I’m not a fiction writer.  I’d never delude myself into thinking I could craft a novel.  A short story?  A bit of flash fiction?  Sure thing.  But I could never hold your attention long enough to bring you so deep into a world with such rich characters that you’d mourn for them when finished.  And I’m okay with that.

I write in my voice, and I write for every day people.  I may not particularly like people, but I love them…  I think people are full of potential.  And if my voice, my stories, my experiences, my knowledge, can inspire people?  Then I was “write” to put fingers to keys.  I know I will not change the world, but perhaps I can enkindle you.

red quill and silver ink well

Check out the weekly writing challenge here at wordpress.com:  Stylish Imitation

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on September 12, 2012, in Just a Note and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow, to be able to build a world like Tolkien would be amazing. Well done.

  2. We can’t all be Tolkien or James Patersson – writing is the main thing .. and that we play with words – like this post.

Leave a Reply

