Wow, one long day!

Looooooong day.

Being up late last night whelping puppies didn’t help, but it was a pleasant surprise.  Even having monitored Roo’s temperature for the 40 hours leading up to the birth didn’t give us the “heads up” it should have.  But then, Roo has never been one to do ANYTHING by the books.

Even after everyone settled in for the night, I didn’t actually do much sleeping.  Between the neon red glow of the heat lamp and the occasional pip from a puppy, it just wasn’t a restful night for me.  Don’t get me wrong though, I’m not complaining.  The babies are worth a little exhaustion.

This morning we had to be at the airport to drop off Deedee at 8:30.  Which meant an early wake-up.  The girl and I don’t usually rise until 9, and she wanted time to visit a park with Deedee for some photos before saying goodbye.  So it really was an early one.

Since we were out already we decided to grab some breakfast.  The girl had pancakes.  Damon had an english muffin breakfast sandwich (yes, thankfully he had Tuesday off this week).  And I had a croissant – boy it’s nice to be on solid foods again… but I do find my jaw gets tired quick and easily.

We did some running around.  Picked up some puppy supplies, got our house insurance information ready for the move, paid a bill…  Then it was home to weigh puppies and make sure everyone was getting a chance to nurse before taking the girl to school – WITH a photo of each puppy and a family portrait to show off to her class.

While the girl was at school we did some more running around so we’d be ready to go as soon as she was off.

We snagged her at 3:25, headed home briefly to let her change into her ballet clothes and to let the dogs out for a potty break.  We also had a 1/2 hour breather (while the dogs were out) during which I just about fell asleep – way too tired.  Damon and Lily-Ann dropped me off at my Breaking the Silence board meeting (which was super exciting, I sooo hope we’re able to get my first choice of speaker for the Friday night kick off, he’d be AMAZING), and the two of them went out for an early supper.  I had to bow out a little early as they picked me back up at 5:30 so we could head to ballet.

After class, we came home weighed puppies again and made sure Roo laid still for a nice long nursing session.  She’s generally a really great momma dog, but she has never been one to stay still for long.  Which was fine for her last litter of two…  but she needs to stretch right out and lay good and still to nurse five…  so she needs us to be rather hands on at this point.

Lily-Ann played on the iPad while we took care of Roo and the pups, then it was time to start the bedtime routine.  And I’ll admit, I dozed off a little while Damon was reading Medusa the Mean.  I really miss doing the night time reading, but until we get things cleared up for me health wise, it’s been passed on to Damon…  tonight though?  tonight I was actually rather thankful for that.

Now the girl is asleep, Damon is upstairs on the computer, and I’m laying in bed with the kid typing this blog post.  LONG day.

Here’s a puppy video I snagged last night during the birth:

Baby three was one of the only puppies born head first.  Most came out backwards.  I have videos of those as well… but I haven’t uploaded them yet.  It all went so fast, I didn’t have a chance to upload as things went along.  When I’m more awake, I promise to share more.  It’s pretty cool.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on October 2, 2012, in Dogs, Family, Parenting, Roo Watch 2012, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

