My BRAVE Family!

For Denyse’s annual Halloween party we decided on a Disney Pixar Brave theme.  However, with our being in the middle of moving house I knew I wouldn’t have time to sew three costumes this year.  So we hit the great “interweb” to hunt down whatever we could find – to help lighten the crafting load.

After a couple of days it became apparent that we weren’t going to be able to find anything movie accurate – which was a bit of a drag, but that also gave us a bit of freedom as well.  So instead of being Merida, Queen Elinor, and King Fergus we are Merida-inspired, Queen Elinor-inspired, and King Fergus-inspired.  LMAO  That also meant I could buy a red tartan to make Damon’s costume at half the price a more authentic blue/green tartan would have been…  and when you’re buying four meters of something, that adds up pretty quickly.  Yay for thriftiness!

With Lily-Ann’s naturally curly red hair, she’s a total natural as Merida.  And she was only too proud to tell anyone who’d listen how she doesn’t need a prince to find her happily ever after.  Now, because kid kid’s curls are all really pretty soft spirals, I had to do some twisties in her hair overnight.  We left the bottom as is, but twisted up six bunches of varying thicknesses up on top.  I just twisted each section until it formed tight little twisty piles and then secured each with two bobby pins.  It gave her the fly-aways, and crazy tight spirals that Merida sports.

Lily-Ann as Merida, a perfect fit with her naturally red curly hair.

The toughest part of my costume was finding a wig.  Seriously, if you need a long brown wig for Halloween you are S.O.L.  I ended up settling for what you see here.  It was the best I could find – even after hitting two Halloween specialty stores and a costume shop in addition to several general stores.  Apparently they figure no-one wants brown hair for Halloween.

Merida and Queen Elinor, I love this photograph.

I have to admit, with ordering our dresses online I was expecting to have to make alterations once they arrived…  but I didn’t have to sew even one stitch on either.  Considering I’m a whopping five foot nothing?!?!?  I was amazed.  If I need a period dress again, I’ll definitely be heading to HolyClothing.com a second time.  The girl’s dress was less of a shocker, but still…  for straight out of the package, it fit pretty darn well.  🙂

So, that’s us this year.  We didn’t go on a photo safari… it was just too darn chilly out.  So these were taken in my parent’s back yard.  Thanks Auntie Risa!

And here’s one more, just a snapshot I grabbed of Lily-Ann at the party, being cute with a stuffed snake:

Oh, and yes…  the little stuffed blackbear is from the Disney store.  You can flip it inside out and it looks like one of the triplets (we call him Hamish) but the girl wanted him to stay a bear for our pictures.  🙂  My mom gave him to Lily-Ann on her birthday.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on October 28, 2012, in Family, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. She are so beautiful your daughter with that red hair and … clear blue eyes. Stunning …
    Excellent family portrait !!!!
    Did you have snow on your backyard ??? Isn’t that a bit early.
    How is the move going by the way ?????

    • Thank you. 🙂 I’m in awe of Lily-Ann on a consistent basis. She really is an amazing little one, and I’m so very lucky she’s mine.

      …and yep. That’s snow. It’s not early for Saskatchewan. It’s pretty normal to get our first permanent snow near the end of October. However, it’s supposed to warm up quite a bit this coming week, so it will likely all melt away yet. I’m still hopeful we’ll have clear sidewalks for moving day (November 10th). 😉

Leave a Reply

