An unexpected bonus…

I have to admit, I was concerned going from having a basement bedroom, where we could block out almost all daylight, to living almost entirely on the main floor of a house.  I have always had a very difficult time sleeping.  Even as a kid – when I’d count that I was getting eight or nine hours of sleep I was counting the time I spent resting, just lying still in bed.  I thought that time counted, I thought everyone “slept” like I did.  Truly only sleeping for a couple hours, and the rest of the time just lying quietly as the mind raced through scenario after scenario, scene after scene, idea after idea, thought after thought…  These days I take a butt load of melatonin to get to sleep, between 10 and 20 mgs most nights.  It’s a large dose, but it’s the only way I’d fall asleep.  Kid kid has a mind like mine, it just doesn’t stop, and if your brain doesn’t slow down you can’t get to sleep, so she takes a 3 mg dose before bed too.

Having all the extra light around us, all the time, I was concerned the effect it might have on my already erratic sleeping patterns.  And there’s the rub…  instead of making things worse?  It’s kinda like someone hit a reset button in my brain.  For the first time in years I’m falling asleep without the melatonin.  I still have to listen to a movie or tv show to quiet my brain down (focusing on one thing stops all the “noise” and lets me drift off), but I did that before in addition to the melatonin.  It’s an odd thing for me not to need assistance to drift off to sleep, but it’s a good thing.  It’s something I’m really liking, and it’s something I never expected.  🙂

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on November 24, 2012, in Family, Nuthin' much, Wee Girlie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

