The Hobbit (my anti-3D rant)

Every so often I go through one of these anti-tech phases…  shunning FB, twitter, pinterest, wish, wordpress, and my phone.  And yeah…  I’m kinda in the middle of one right now.  That said, I will attempt to resume my regularly scheduled, six nights a week, blogging.  To that end, here I am.  Blogging.

On Christmas (yep, actually ON Christmas, at 10:45 PM) Damon and I went to see The Hobbit.  Now, to give you a little back story, and I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this all before, The Hobbit?  It’s more than a book, more than a movie, more than a script to me.  It’s a huge freakin’ part of my life and has been since my childhood.  After blogging for as many years as I have been, I’m certain I’ve mentioned this before, so I’m guessing if you search my blog for “hobbit” that more than a few entries will pop up.  It’s been a big deal in my life, and helped shape me in many ways.  However, I’m still feeling rather anti-tech-ish, so I don’t feel all that up to typing and sharing a peroration.  So just pretend that you are with me and as excited as I am/was.

So YAY!!!!  The Hobbit!!!

Well…  all I really feel prepared to say is skip the 3D.  Honestly.  If you have yet to catch The Hobbit at your local cinema, watch the 2D version of it.  The movie should have been incredibly immersive experience, but I found I was constantly pulled out of the story by the 3D.  It’s not that it’s a bad use of it, it’s just that stylistically it doesn’t work for much of the storytelling.  Sure, there are a few scenes that looked really impressive, but the majority of the time it just pulls you away from the story.  And that, my friends?  Is a sure fire way to ruin what could have been an amazing movie going experience.

So my YAY became a disappointing sigh as I was repeatedly pulled out of the story because of what?  Tech.  That’s right.  Which probably doesn’t help my current anti-tech phase.  Too much tech.  Boo.

With that, I’ll sign off for the night.

Wishing you all a wonderful tech-filled night without disappointment.  😉

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on December 27, 2012, in Just a Note and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

