Reflection

We are now one week away from our trip to WDW.  Time to get all the detail work done in preparation for TEN DAYS away.  Time to pack, and see if there’s anything else we need to pick up before going.  Time to write up info sheets on each member of our animal family for Riki and Kate (who will be staying here, and watching over them all).  Time to buy food and meds, enough to last all the dogs/cat/parrot.  Time to prepare games, and activities, and toys for two days of sitting around in airports.  Time to decide on our budget, and to get some American money.  Time to decide what things will have priority and what will be an “if we can work it out” thing.  Time to get everything in order.  Time to finish sewing, time to put away other projects, time to admit I didn’t get everything done that I’d hoped to…  time to start getting excited as our trip is really just around the corner.

I’ve never been to Disney World, but I did go to Disneyland when I was nine – with Gramma, Grampa Bear, and Devan.  And I’ll be honest, with my memory issues I don’t remember hardly any of it.  I wish I did.  I was old enough that I should remember it…  but there really are so few moments that made it into my emotional memory that it’s barely a blip.  That makes me sad.  This trip though?  Even with my terrible memory, I’m sure will be one I keep with me for the rest of my days.

While the girl was at school this afternoon, Damon and I headed out to visit with Karla – our travel agent.  We talked over a few things.  And she put my mind at ease over a couple things I was unsure of.  After hanging out in her office for about an hour and a half I really do feel set to go.  Now it’s just a matter of getting all the little details arranged, then we’ll be off.

So, with that on my mind, here’s my challenge shot for today:

jan21

With the challenge being “reflection” I could have gone a few different directions… I thought about taking another snapshot of Kid Kid – and talking about how our children reflect what we put into them.  But then I thought about the huge number of photos I already have on this blog of her.  LOL  So it occurred to me (after changing into my pjs) that I could go completely literal.  So I grabbed the mirror that belonged to my paternal Grandmother, who passed when I was too young to really know her, and photographed the reflection of it’s reflection.  I love this little mirror.  It feels like I’ve always had it, and I always feel beautiful when I look into it – even with pjs, chipped nail polish, and damp hair.  😉

photo a day challenge for january

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on January 21, 2013, in Family, iPhone, January Photo Challenge, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

