Princess Meets in Walt Disney World

The girl and I were watching Hercules today, and it got me thinking about character meets at Walt Disney World.  We did a ton of them, and plan to do even more of them in January.  But there are characters I’d have loved to have had the chance to interact with that just don’t do the meets.  Characters like Megara, whom I only caught a glimpse of for half a second during Fantasmic, and thus only got one really crappy photo of:

Terrible photo I know...  but it was MEG!  One of my favourites, and I only caught a glimpse of her for a second before she was gone.

Terrible photo I know… but it was MEG!

Or Giselle from Enchanted, Now THAT’s a princess I’d like to meet.  But rumour has it that we’ll never see her in the parks.  I did a little digging and it looks like Disney is simply unwilling to pay any royalties to Amy Adams (whom I adore and who originally portrayed Giselle in the movie).  Now, I don’t know if that’s accurate or not, but if it is?  I’m not impressed.

And now?  Now it sounds like the sisters from Frozen, Anna and Elsa, will be removed from Epcot at the beginning of January.  At the same time as the holiday decorations get packed up.  I’m very much hoping those rumours are false too.

Disney has a host of Princesses that are so much better for our little ones to look up to, yet we don’t ever get to see them.  What’s up with that?  At least we still get to meet Vanellope – who, even though she hasn’t been officially crowned to the Disney Pantheon, is my favourite Disney Princess.

I don’t know.  The same few princesses over and over again are fine, everyone loves a classic.  But I for one would love to see some of the others.  How about Rapunzel joining the gang for meals at Cinderella’s castle?  Or Anna, Elsa, and Merida showing up at the Princess Storybook Dining in Epcot?  I’d love a character meet that included Mulan and Megara too.  I’m glad we get to meet Tiana, but let’s include a few others.  Lots of great ones that could be included!

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on December 24, 2013, in 30 Days of Disney, Disney World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment