Seek no more

On Thursday, February 28th I felt a sudden need to light a candle and to send love out into the universe.  I didn’t know why I needed to, I just knew that I had to.  So at 4:30 I let my daughter choose a candle and we lit it together.  Shortly after that things became all to clear.

Bran Everseeking, who was known to some as Thomas Dunbar, was a treasured friend.  At 4:15 his wife, Naomi, had posted to FB that he was having a heart attack.  It wasn’t until later that evening I would learn of it…  after seeing another post she made at 6:04.  Bran had left this world for the next.  Gratefully I didn’t learn the news until after Lily-Ann had gone to sleep as with it came a slurry of tears.  It honestly felt like some cruel joke.

The last couple of days have been absolutely draining, and I really have no words – which is why this post is more dry facts than anything else.  I’m simply trying to relay information without breaking down again.  For now all I can share are images, something I believe Bran (as a fellow photographer) would appreciate.

The candle I lit at about 4:30 on Thursday, burned until 4:54 Saturday morning.  I know this, because the change in light woke me from a troubled sleep and I saw the last ember go out.

Goodnight my dear, dear friend.  Know that love follows you from this life into the next.  Seek no more.

About Tobi-Dawne

Tobi-Dawne Smith is many things to many people... photographer, canine behaviour expert, equal rights activist, green politician, lactivist, intactivist, writer, crafter, dog handler, third wave feminist, etc. But most important in her life is her role as mother to an amazing five year old. Learn more about TD at http://www.tobi-dawne.com/ follow her blog at https://td365.wordpress.com/ get to know her daughter at http://lilyannslemonade.wordpress.com/ or check out her work at http://tdphotography.me/

Posted on March 2, 2013, in Family, Feminism, gender variant, lgbt, LGBTTQ, Nikon D90, Our World, People, photography, saskatoon, TD Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. This is beautiful. Thomas would be touched. There are so many people whose lives he touched. He had more than enough love for everyone.

    • As keenly as I feel his loss, I can only imagine the hole he has left in your lives. I often found myself musing – with a smile as big as the man himself – that the reason he was such a big man was because all the love he shared with those he met couldn’t have been held within a smaller vessel.

      I think of Bran, and of you and your family every day. (((hugs)))

  3. Sorry for your loss, Tobi-Dawne. That’s a great picture of him.

  4. *hugs*

    Our thoughts and prayers will be with you and his family through this time of sorrow. If you need anything – even just to vent or talk, just snag me.

  5. ((Hugs)) A very beautiful tribute!

    • I wish I’d felt up to writing more… but I still can’t even begin to write about what he meant to me without breaking down. We were all so very blessed to have him in our lives.

  6. Hugs to you and yours

  1. Pingback: Back to Business as Usual. | TD 365

Leave a comment